General Info

General Information

Turkey is considered to be the gateway between Europe and Asia; it is an Eurasian country located on the Mediterranean stretching across the Anatolian peninsula in southwest Asia and the Balkan region of southeastern Europe. It is bordered by the Black Sea, the Marmara Sea, the Aegean Sea and Mediterranean Sea.

Official Name: Republic of Turkey
Capital: Ankara

Area: 780,580 sq. km.
Currency: Turkish Lira (TRY)
Official language: Turkish
Time zone: GMT +2
Dialing Code: +90
Internet top-level domain (TLD): .tr
Emergency services: 112

Religions: 99% Muslim, 1% other
Government: Parliamentary Republic
President: Mr. Recep Tayyip Erdogan

Population: ~75 million
Population density: 93/km² (240/sq. miles)
Gross Domestic Product (GDP): USD $791 billion (est. 2008); per capita USD 10,380 (est. 2008)
Human Development Index (HDI): 0.775 (medium) (2007)